Amsterdam(short visit)

Today my boyfriend and I visited Amsterdam. It’s about 2.5 hour drive so I don’t often come there. But today I had the chance to take some pictures of the beautiful canals and streets. The name Amsterdam is well known everywhere I have dropped it around the world. Even though I lived in the Netherlands all my life I feel like a foreigner in Amsterdam. It’s a big deal to live there. Personally I have never felt connected to a big city like that but I love the old city centre. It tells a story about the wealth of Holland. It shows how water always has been important to the Netherlands.

_DSC5127.JPG
Canals and ‘Grachtenpanden’

There is so much to tell about Amsterdam and I am planning to go here more often. Today I only had the opportunity to go here for about an hour. I really want to visit the ‘Rijksmuseum’ and ‘Anne Frank’ house soon. The city is also known for the artists like Rembrandt and van Gogh. I would really like to see more of their art and stories.

SONY DSC
Enjoying the view

Also Amsterdam is known for their bicycles and cyclists who rule the city. There’re about 1.2 million bicycles in the city alone and 400 km (249 miles) of special bike paths which is more than the length from the top north to the bottom south of the Netherlands. The bicycles unite the people. It’s a transportation used by every ‘class’ of people.

SONY DSC
Bicycle

This brings us to the end of this blog. Unfortunately my time in Amsterdam was short for today but I wanted to share some pictures. Thank you for reading!

SONY DSC
‘Amsterdammertje’

 

Leave a Reply

